Homer artists receive Rasmuson grants

Four Homer artists have received Rasmuson Foundation project grants or fellowships, the foundation announced on Wednesday. Awarded grants are:

• George Overpeck, a wood artist, for a $7,500 project grant;

• John Whittier, a media artist, for a $7,500 project grant.

• Erin Coughlin Hollowell, a poet, an $18,000 fellowship, and

• Ahna Iredale, a ceramic artist, an $18,000 fellowship.

Overpeck and Hollowell attended a reception on Tuesday and an awards ceremony on Wednesday. Overpeck turns bowls, vessels and sculptural items from trees found on the Kenai Peninsula. He will use his grant to purchase new tools.

Hollowell’s first poetry collection, “Pause, Traveler,” was published this month by Red Hen Press/Boreal Books. During her fellowship she will support the release of her book and create new work.

Whittier is a photographer and filmmaker. Iredale is a longtime Homer ceramics artist. Three of her ceramic pieces have been purchased by the Pratt Museum through the Rasmuson Foundation Art Acquistion program.

Sitka artist Teri Rofkar received a $40,000 distinguished artist award.

Tags: ,