Years ago in Homer

20 years ago in the Homer News:

Rep. Gail Phillips was re-elected to the Alaska House of Representatives, defeating Democratic challenger Joni Whitmore in a close election that saw Whitmore do well south of Anchor Point, but lose by a wide margin in the northern precincts. U.S. Sen. Ted Stevens and U.S. Rep. Don Young were also re-elected by huge margins. The majority of Homer, as well as statewide, voters chose Bob Dole over Pres. Bill Clinton, making Alaska one of the few states Dole won. Homer saw a 48.8 percent voter turn out.

– From the issue of Nov. 7, 1996

30 years ago in the Homer News:

District 5 voters returned Mike Navarre to the state House, turned out Libertarian Andre Marrou and replaced him with political newcomer C.E. Swackhammer of Soldotna. Both Navarre and Swackhammer closely aligned themselves with the campaign of Alaska’s new governor, Democrat Steve Cowper. The representatives said they expect District 5 to have better access to the governor than in previous years.

– From the issue of Nov. 6, 1986

50 years ago in the Homer News:

Walter J. Hickel became Alaska’s first elected Republican governor. Howard W. Pollock captured Alaska’s lone seat in the U.S. House of Representatives after his defeat of veteran Congressman Ralph J. Rivers. Sen. E. L. Bartlett won a U.S. Senate seat with a sweeping victory against his opponent Dr. Lee McKinley.

– From the issue of Nov. 10, 1966

More in Community

Town Crier

Update: Town Crier has been updated with new information on closures at… Continue reading

Lione Rae Bell

Lione Rae Bell was born at 7:30 a.m. on Aug. 26, 2021,… Continue reading

The Homer Police Station as seen Thursday, Sept. 24, 2020 in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Cops and Courts

Information about fire, police and troopers is taken from public records consisting… Continue reading

Mama Mona, Lakshmi, Georgia and Lil’ Stripe (Photo courtesy of Alaska Mindful Paws)
Pets of the week: Mama Mona, Lakshmi, Georgia and Lil’ Stripe

How is this possible, folks, that this sweet family of four is… Continue reading

Cooked by a combination of pan frying and steaming, delicate tofu and vegetable dumplings require a delicate hand and patience. (Photo by Tressa Dale/Peninsula Clarion)
On the strawberry patch: Chubby bites of goodness

Pan-fried and steamed tofu and vegetable dumplings take patience and practice.

Homer High School. (Homer News file photo)
School announcements

School district risk level update and upcoming events

Kim Terpening's "Wetands Daydream" is part of the Homer Drawdown Peatland exhibit showing at the Pratt Museum & Park through Oct. 10, 2021, in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Peatlands exhibit at Pratt merges art and conservation

In its exhibits, the Pratt Museum & Park has used artistic expression… Continue reading

The Alaska Grown logo.
Homer Farmers Market: Winding down for the season

Vendors will continue through October, but market booth closes this Saturday.

The masthead for the Homer Weekly News.
Years Ago

Homer happenings from years past

Most Read