• Thursday, February 22, 2018 9:47am
  • News

These are the names of children and adults killed in mass shootings and stabbings at schools and universities in the United States going back to the Bethel Regional School shooting, Feb. 19, 1997:

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida, Feb. 14, 2018: Alyssa Alhadeff, Scott Beige, Martin Duque Anguiano, Nicholas Dworet, Aaron Feis, Jaime Guttenberg, Christopher Hixon, Luke Hoyer, Cara Loughran, Gina Montalto, Joaquin Oliver, Alaina Petty, Meadow Pollack, Helena Ramsay, Alexander Schachter, Carmen Schentrup, Peter Wang.

Umpqua Community College, Roseburg, Oregon, Oct. 1, 2015: Lucero Alcaraz, Treven Taylor Anspach, Rebecka Ann Carnes, Quinn Glen Cooper, Kim Saltmarsh Dietz, Lucas Eibel, Jason Dale Johnson, Lawrence Levine, Sarena Dawn Moore

University of California Santa Barbara, Isla Vista, California, May 23, 2014: Weihan Wang, Cheng Yuan Hong, George Chen, Katherine Cooper, Veronika Weiss, Christopher Michaels-Martinez

Marysville-Pilchuck High School, Marysville, Washington, Oct. 24, 2014: Gia Soriano, Zoe Galasso, Shaylee Chuckulnaskit, Andrew Fryberg

Santa Monica College, Santa Monica, California, June 7, 2013: Samir Zawahri, Carlos Navarro Franco, Marcela Franco, Margarita Gomez, Chris Zawahri, Samir Zawahri.

Sandy Hook Elementary, Newtown, Connecticut, Dec. 14, 2012: Charlotte Bacon, Daniel Barden, Rachel Davino, Olivia Engel, Josephine Gay, Ana M. Marquez-Greene, Dylan Hockley, Dawn Hochsprung, Madeline F. Hsu, Catherine V. Hubbard, Chase Kowalski, Jesse Lewis, James Mattioli, Grace McDonnell, Anne Marie Murphy, Emilie Parker, Jack Pinto, Noah Pozner, Caroline Previdi, Jessica Rekos, Avielle Richman, Lauren Rousseau, Mary Sherlach, Victoria Soto, Benjamin Wheeler, Allison N Wyatt.

Oikos University, Oakland, California, April 2, 2012: Tshering Rinzing Bhutia, Doris Chibuko, Sonam Chodon, Grace Eunhae Kim, Katleen Ping, Judith Seymour, Lydia Sim,

Northern Illinois University, Dekalb, Illinois, Feb. 14, 2008: Ryanne Mace, Gayle Dubowski, Catalina Garcia, Julianna Gehant, Daniel Parmenter,

Virginia Polytechnical University, Blacksburg, Virginia, April 16, 2007: Ross Abdallah Alameddine, Christopher James “Jamie” Bishop, Brian Bluhm, Ryan Clark, Austin Cloyd, Jocelyne Couture-Nowak, Kevin Granata, Matthew G. Gwaltney, Caitlin Hammaren, Jeremy Herbstritt, Rachael Elizabeth Hill, Emily Hilscher, Jarrett Lane, Matthew J. La Porte, Henry Lee, Liviu Librescu, G.V. Loganathan, Partahi Lumbantoruan, Lauren McCain, Daniel O’Neil, Juan Ramon Ortiz, Minal Panchal, Daniel Perez Cueva, Erin Peterson, Mike Pohle, Julia Pryde, Mary Read, Reema Samaha, Waleed Shaalan, Leslie Sherman, Maxine Turner, Nicole White.

West Nickel Mines Amish School, Nickel Mines, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, Oct. 2, 2006: Naomi Rose Ebersol, Marian Stoltzfus Fisher, Anna Mae Stoltzfus, Lena Zook Miller, Mary Liz Miller.

Red Lake Middle School, Red Lake, Minnesota, March 21, 2005: Daryl Allen Lussier, Michelle Leigh Sigana, Derrick Brian Brun, Neva Jane Wynkoop-Rogers, Alicia Alberta White, Thurlene Marie Stillday, Chanelle Star Rosebear, Chase Albert Lussier, Dewayne Michael Lewis.

Columbine High School, Littleton, Colorado, April 20, 1999: Cassie Bernall, Steve Curnow, Corey DePooter, Kelly Fleming, Matt Kechter, Daniel Mauser, Daniel Rohrbough, Rachel Scott, Isaiah Shoels, Isaiah Shoels, John Tomlin, Lauren Townsend, Kyle Velasquez, Dave Sanders.

Bethel Regional High School, Bethel, Alaska, Feb. 19, 1997: Ron Edwards and Josh Palacio.

More in News

Alaska State Troopers logo.
Anchor Point house fire leaves one dead, one in serious condition

The cause of the fire is under investigation.

Snow and debris from an avalanche can be seen near Mile 45 on the Seward Highway on Monday, March 29, 2021. (Photo courtesy Goldie Shealy)
Center promotes avalanche awareness

The Chugach Avalanche Center in Girdwood will begin its daily forecasts Saturday.

Commercial fishing and other boats are moored in the Homer Harbor in this file photo. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Seawatch: Historic sockeye run predicted for Bristol Bay

ADF&G says 2022 run could break this year’s record

The entrance to the Mendenhall Glacier Recreation Area in the Tongass National Forest was covered in snow on Friday, Nov. 19, 2021, a day after federal authorities announced the next step in restoring the 2001 Roadless Rule on the forest. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
Feds put freeze on Roadless Rule rollback

On the Roadless Rule again.

Alaska man pleads not guilty to threatening 2 US senators

If convicted, he could face a maximum sentence of 50 years in prison.

Commercial fishing vessels are seen here on the Kenai River on July 10, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Fishing industry takes a hit during pandemic

Overall fish harvesting jobs in Alaska dropped by the widest margin since 2000 — 14.1% — in 2020.

FILE - The Olympic rings stand atop a sign at the entrance to the Squaw Valley Ski Resort in Olympic Valley, Calif., on July 8, 2020. U.S. Interior Secretary Deb Haaland on Friday, Nov. 19, 2021, declared "squaw" to be a derogatory term and said she is taking steps to remove the term from federal government use and to replace other derogatory place names. The popular California ski resort changed its name to Palisades Tahoe earlier this year. (AP Photo/Haven Daley, File)
Interior secretary seeks to rid U.S. of derogatory place names

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — U.S. Interior Secretary Deb Haaland on Friday formally declared… Continue reading

Most Read