Erickson files for city council; Lewis files for mayor

Editor’s note: This story has been updated to add that David Lewis has filed to run for Homer Mayor.

Erickson files for city council; Lewis files for mayor

As of 3 p.m. Friday, two more people have filed for city office. Homer business owner Shelly Erickson has filed for city council and Homer City Council member David Lewis has filed for mayor. Erickson’s previous government service was as a commissioner on the Homer Advisory Planning Commission. A current planning commissioner, Tom Stroozas, filed for a council seat earlier. Current Homer City Council member Bryan Zak will not run for re-election. He filed earlier to run for mayor. The second council seat up for election is held by Gus VanDyke. VanDyke has not yet announced his intentions. The council seats are for 3-year terms and the mayoral seat is for a 2-year term.

In the council race, the top two candidates receiving votes are elected provided the candidates receive at least 40 percent of the votes cast in a race of five or fewer candidates or 35 percent in a race of more than five candidates.

Current Homer Mayor Beth Wythe is not running for re-election. She and Anchor Point business owner John Cox are challenging incumbent Rep. Paul Seaton, R-Homer, in the Republican Party primary for District 31 representative. The primary election is 7 a.m.-8 p.m. Tuesday.

The filing period for city of Homer seats started Aug. 1 and closes at noon Monday, Aug. 15. The election will be held Oct. 4.

Michael Armstrong can be reached at