Grads earn $1.6 million in scholarships

The following scholarships were awarded to Homer High School graduating seniors. The amount totaled more than $1.6 million. Individual amounts were not available.
University of Alaska Scholars: Hannah Baird, Katherine Dolma, Maggie Koplin; Mattea Peters, Brian Rowe, Elsa Simmons, Cassidy Soistman, Joshua Vantrease, John Walsworth;
KPAA: Tabitha Drover;
Ptarmigan Arts Visual Arts Scholarship: Irene Pellegrini;
Homer Elks Club, Lodge No. 2127: Hailey Hughes;
Karen Hornaday: Mattea Peters;
Kenai Peninsula Builders Association: Jake Eckert;
Rotary Club: Sierra Moskios, Pedro Ochoa, Mattea Peters;
Kachemak Bay Board of Realtors: Zoe Story;
Vickey J. Hodnik Scholarship: Mariah Radeke, Brian Rowe;
Homer Emblem Club No. 350: Brian Rowe, Cassidy Soistman;
AK State Association of Emblem: Brian Rowe;
Homer Elks Lodge State: Katherine Dolma, Brian Rowe;
Homer Elks Lodge Local 2127: Katherine Dolma, Sierra Moskios, Mattea Peters, Brian Rowe, Cassidy Soistman, Waricha Theochanthuek;
Homer Electric Association: Mattea Peters, Brian Rowe;
United States Senate Youth Program: John Walsworth;
Beluga Tail/Tale Writing Scholarship: Hannah Baird, Megan Garoutte;
McNeil Canyon Scholarship: Hannah Baird;
Kachemak Bay Lions: Katherine Dolma, Sierra Moskios, Cassidy Soistman;
Prudential Spirit of Community: Katherine Dolma;
Kachemak Bay Medical Clinic: Sierra Moskios;
KTUU Funding the Future: Zoe Story;
Cody De Vaney Memorial: Jacob Groff;
Peninsula Oilers Booster Club: Brian Rowe;
Power Plant Productions: Jacob Groff;
Black Hat Award: Sydney Paulino;
Ken Fisher Memorial: Mattea Peters;
American Legion Unit 16, Wounded Warriors: Hailey Hughes;
American Legion Auxiliary, Post and State: Hailey Hughes, Pedro Ochoa, Ethan Roderick;
ConocoPhillips: Brian Rowe;
PEO Star Scholarship Chapter E: Katherine Dolma;
Homer High School Government: Sierra Moskios;
Icicle Seafoods Ocean Bowl Scholarship: Logan Reveil.
The additional following scholarships have been awarded from a variety of permanently endowed scholarship funds administered by the Homer Foundation. “These scholarship funds illustrate the extreme generosity of our community and the value it places on our youth and their education,” said Joy Steward the foundation’s executive director.
Homer Community Science Scholarship, supporting post-secondary education in the life sciences, established by retired Homer High School Science teacher, Stan Eller, and is supported by community donations:
• Katherine Dolma, Homer High School,  $750 to study the environmental science;
• Cassidy Soistman, Homer High School:  $750 to study sports medicine and athletic training;
• Sierra Moskios, Homer High School:  $500 to study psychology at Pacific Lutheran University.
Alain and Daniel Rieser Scholarship, recognizing a Homer High School graduating senior with a flair for foreign language and an interest in foreign cultures, to be used for continued language study at college or a self-directed travel/cultural immersion project:
• Irene Pellegrini, Homer High School, $3,000 for cultural immersion trip to South America including Argentina, Peru, Chile, Bolivia and Brazil.
Drew Scalzi Memorial Maritime Scholarship, established in 2006 by the North Pacific Fisheries Association, community donors, and the Scalzi family in memory of Drew Scalzi; the underlying philosophy of the scholarship is to nurture young adults pursuing their careers in the maritime field or who are from fishing or maritime families:
• Deonisy Konev, Kachemak Selo, $1,000 to study information technology at AVTEC.