HEA announces winner of board elections; McKittrick elected for lower Kenai Peninsula

Homer Electric Association members elected three directors at the cooperative’s 69th Annual Meeting of the Members in Kenai on May 2, HEA announced in a press release last week. Elected or re-elected are:

• District 1 (Kenai – Nikiski – parts of Soldotna area), incumbent director Dan Chay of Kenai ran unopposed and was elected to another three-year term.

• District 2 (Soldotna – Sterling- Kasilof area), incumbent director Ed Oberts of Soldotna ran against Ed Schmitt of Soldotna. Incumbent Ed Oberts was re-elected to represent District 2.

• District 3 (South Kasilof – Kachemak Bay area), Erin McKittrick of Seldovia ran against Gregory C. Martin Jr. of Homer. Voters elected Erin McKittrick to represent District 3.

The Annual Meeting drew more than 300 people. The meeting featured informational booths with an emphasis on HEA services and programs.