Homer News wins 10 awards from Press Club

Homer News staff took home 10 2015 Alaska Press Club Awards at a banquet last Saturday held in Anchorage. The awards are for work done in 2014.

Former Homer News reporter McKibben Jackinsky retired with distinction with six awards, including first-place awards for education and business reporting. Jackinsky worked 10 years at the Homer News and retired in February.

Also winning first-place awards were longtime editorial cartoonist Michael O’Meara and reporter Michael Armstrong. Armstrong won first place for the Suzan Nightingale Award for Best Columnist for his Best Bets columns.

Editor and publisher Lori Evans and graphic artist Kari Odden won a third-place award for best page layout and design, and freelance writer Sarah Richardson won second place for best arts reporting.

KBBI reporter Shady Grove Oliver won a third-place award for best profile for her story on the late Renn Tolman and a second-place award for best education reporting for a story about homeless students.

The Alaska Press Club honors Alaska journalists in all media for reporting, page design, photography and other categories. The awards are given at the annual Alaska Press Club meetings held in Anchorage. The awards are a fundraiser for the Press Club and are judged by non-Alaska judges.

Michael Armstrong can be reached at michael.armstrong@homernews.com.