Legislative leadership lines up for the upcoming session


Re-elected to serve in the 28th Alaska Legislature, representing House District 30, Rep. Paul Seaton, R-Homer, will serve as chair of the House Fisheries Committee. He also will be a sitting member of the House Resources, Education and Health and Social Services committees.

At a meeting of the Alaska House Majority Caucus following the Nov. 6 general election, Rep. Mike Chenault, R-Nikiski, was selected as House Speaker; Rep. Lance Pruitt, R-Anchorage, was selected as Majority Leader; and Rep. Craig Johnson, R-Anchorage, was selected as chair of the Rules Committee. 

Reps. Bill Stoltze, R-Mat-Su/Chugiak, and Alan Austerman, R-Kodiak, will co-chair the House Finance Committee, with Rep. Peggy Wilson, R-Wrangell, serving as Majority Whip for a second consecutive term.

The Alaska Democratic Caucus also announced its leadership for the 28th Legislature. Rep. Beth Kerttula, D-Juneau, will be House Democratic Leader and Rep. Chris Tuck, D-Anchorage, will be the House Democratic Whip. Rep. Max Gruenberg, D-Anchorage, will remain as House Democratic Floor Leader.

Republican senators gathered Nov. 7 to fill leadership positions with Sen. Charlie Huggins, R-Wasilla, serving as Senate President; Sen. John Coghill, R-Fairbanks, serving as Senate Majority; and Sen. Lesil McGuire, R-Anchorage, chairing the Rules Committee. 

The Finance Committee will be co-chaired by Sens. Kevin Meyer, R-Anchorage, and Sen. Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks. 

No Democrats attended the meeting.

More in News

Alaska State Troopers logo.
Anchor Point house fire leaves one dead, one in serious condition

The cause of the fire is under investigation.

Snow and debris from an avalanche can be seen near Mile 45 on the Seward Highway on Monday, March 29, 2021. (Photo courtesy Goldie Shealy)
Center promotes avalanche awareness

The Chugach Avalanche Center in Girdwood will begin its daily forecasts Saturday.

Commercial fishing and other boats are moored in the Homer Harbor in this file photo. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Seawatch: Historic sockeye run predicted for Bristol Bay

ADF&G says 2022 run could break this year’s record

The entrance to the Mendenhall Glacier Recreation Area in the Tongass National Forest was covered in snow on Friday, Nov. 19, 2021, a day after federal authorities announced the next step in restoring the 2001 Roadless Rule on the forest. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
Feds put freeze on Roadless Rule rollback

On the Roadless Rule again.

Alaska man pleads not guilty to threatening 2 US senators

If convicted, he could face a maximum sentence of 50 years in prison.

Commercial fishing vessels are seen here on the Kenai River on July 10, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Fishing industry takes a hit during pandemic

Overall fish harvesting jobs in Alaska dropped by the widest margin since 2000 — 14.1% — in 2020.

FILE - The Olympic rings stand atop a sign at the entrance to the Squaw Valley Ski Resort in Olympic Valley, Calif., on July 8, 2020. U.S. Interior Secretary Deb Haaland on Friday, Nov. 19, 2021, declared "squaw" to be a derogatory term and said she is taking steps to remove the term from federal government use and to replace other derogatory place names. The popular California ski resort changed its name to Palisades Tahoe earlier this year. (AP Photo/Haven Daley, File)
Interior secretary seeks to rid U.S. of derogatory place names

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — U.S. Interior Secretary Deb Haaland on Friday formally declared… Continue reading

Most Read