McCaffrey to succeed Nerland as KeyBank Alaska president

Brian Nerland will retire from KeyBank at year-end and Commercial Banking Executive Lori McCaffrey will succeed him as Alaska market president.

With his retirement, Nerland will complete a 30-year career at KeyBank in Alaska and will transfer leadership to McCaffrey, whom he hired 20 years ago to work with him in commercial banking.

“We’ve been a great team,” said Nerland, “and we’re both proud of the long-term and loyal client relationships that our seasoned bankers have cultivated on behalf of Key.”

As market president, McCaffrey becomes the voice of KeyBank in Alaska and will continue leading the commercial banking line of business.

“Lori has extensive knowledge of the market and understands Key’s commitment to building client relationships, growing our business and demonstrating our dedication to the communities here,” said Pacific Region Executive Carol K. Nelson in announcing the change. 

“Her industry experience and leadership skills make her the ideal candidate for the role of market president,” said Nelson.

McCaffrey joined KeyBank in 1995 as a commercial lender, having begun her career in 1979 at Mellon Bank in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Over the years she became a senior lender and in 2010 assumed leadership of the commercial banking team. She took on interim management of the private banking group two years later. 

During her tenure, McCaffrey has earned numerous recognitions including Key’s Chairman’s Award, Signature Circle, and Extraordinary Leadership Award.

In an announcement to KeyBank employees, Key Community Bank Co-Presidents EJ Burke and Dennis Devine joined Nelson in praising Nerland’s distinguished career and hailed his leadership, dedication and enthusiasm. 

Nelson acknowledged Nerland’s “many contributions to the Pacific Region and the Alaska Market and his proven track record of leading successful, client-focused teams.”

A fourth generation Alaskan, Nerland plans to remain active in the community and intends to consider new challenges and business opportunities. He currently serves as a board member of the Alaska Bankers Association and as past chair and board member of the Anchorage Economic Development Corporation.