Parnell names 18 tourism marketing board members

Gov. Sean Parnell last week appointed 18 members of the Alaska Travel Industry Association to serve on the Alaska Tourism Marketing Board. Senate Bill 194, recently signed into law by the governor, creates a board that will make recommendations for tourism marketing strategies that are in the public interest, including an Alaska destination tourism marketing campaign, according to a press release from the governor’s office.

Among those named are Jonathan Faulkner, president, Land’s End Resort in Homer, Van Gilder Hotel in Seward, and Kenai Landing; Deborah Hansen, director of marketing and sales, Pike’s Waterfront Lodge; Karen Harris, president, Alaska Bed and Breakfast Association of Alaska, and owner, Alaska Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast; Russell Dick, CEO, Alaskan Dream Cruises; Chuck Baird, director of corporate group development, Waterfall Group; James Minton, vice president of Communications, Visit Anchorage; Charlie Ball, president, Holland America-Princess Alaska Yukon; Colleen Stephens, president, Stan Stephens Glacier & Wildlife Cruises; Bob Dindinger, CEO, Alaska Travel Adventures Inc.; Bruce LaLonde, director of guest services and passenger marketing, Alaska Railroad Corp.; Bill Pedlar, president, Knightly Tours; Ruth Banaszak, brand and marketing manager, Huna Totem Corp.; Ryan Binkley, president, Riverboat Discovery; Gideon Garcia, chief operating officer, CIRI Alaska Tourism Corp.; Patti Mackey, president and CEO, Ketchikan Visitors Bureau; Dennis McDonnell, president, Alaska Coach Tours; Kathy Hedges, marketing coordinator, Northern Alaska Tour Co.; and Mark Weakland, general manager, The Hotel Alyeska.