Homer hoops players named to all-conference teams

After competing in the Southcentral Conference basketball tournament this past weekend, members of Homer’s boys and girls varsity teams landed a few spots on the all-conference teams.

The Southcentral Conference Awards named players from Homer, Seward, Kenai, Houston, Anchorage Christian and Grace Christian schools to first and second all-conference teams.

For the boys, Homer’s Clayton Beachy was named to the first all-conference team, and Parker Lowney, Eyoab Knapp, River Mann were named to the second all-conference team, according to a release from Kenai Athletic Director Jesse Settlemyer. The boys’ Southcentral Conference tourney was held over the weekend at Kenai High School, while the girls’ tournament was held in Nikiski.

Houston Hawks coach Ted Van Dussen was named coach of the year, and the region’s most valuable player for the boys was Jaren Miller of Grace Christian.

For the girls teams, Homer’s Hannah Hatfield and Laura Inama landed on the first team all-conference, while Delilah Harris was named to the second team and Tonda Smude got honorable mention, according to a release from Nikiski Athletic Director Dylan Hooper.

Seward’s Curtis Berry was named coach of the year for the girls Southcentral Conference, and the region MVP was Anchorage Christian’s Sayvia Sellers.

Full all-conference awards are as follows:


Coach of the Year: Curtis Berry, Seward

Conference MVP: Sayvia Sellers, ACS

Girls 1st Team All-Conference

Tessa Binder, Grace Christian

Lillian Carstens, Nikiski

Mykaila Pickard, ACS

Emma Beck, Kenai

Lexi Seymore, Redington

Shelby Sieminski, Seward

Hannah Hatfield, Homer

Laura Inama, Homer

Sunny Pedebone, ACS

Logan Satathite, Kenai

Mikayla Johnson, ACS

Girls 2nd Team All-Conference

Anna Whitted, Houston

Katelyn Lemme, Seward

Twyla Anderstrom, Redington

Delilah Harris, Homer

Destiny Simmons, Redington

Bailey Epperheimer, Nikiski

Kinlee Jeffreys, Nikiski

Sarah Sorrells, ACS

Kennedy Wood, Grace Christian

Honorable Mention

Tonda Smude, Homer

Leiah Rusher, Houston

Savannah Stock, Nikiski

Hailey Stoker, Redington

Anevay Ambrosiani, Seward


Coach of the Year: Ted Van Dussen, Houston Hawks

Region MVP: Jaren Miller, Grace Christian

Boys 1st Team All-Conference

Luke Lentfer, Grace Christian

Josh Davis, ACS

Max Pfeiffenberger, Seward

Hayden Howard, Houston

Clayton Beachy, Homer

Matt Sanders, ACS

Sam Koster, Seward


Cody Wyrick, Houston

Maison Dunham, Kenai

Trey Ingalls, Seward

Boys 2nd Team All-Conference

Parker Lowney, Homer

Eyoab Knapp, Homer

Jaxon Trevithick, Grace

Cole Taylor, Houston

Caileb Payne, Nikiski

Logan Seymore, Redington

Braden Cork, Houston

Drew Handley, Nikiski

Lucas Tunseth, Kenai

River Mann, Homer