UFA names new officers, exec committee members

The United Fishermen of Alaska, the largest statewide commercial fishing industry trade association representing 36 member organizations, announces the re-election of Jerry McCune of Cordova District Fishermen United as president

McCune is joined by new Executive Committee members Chip Treinen of Southeast Herring Conservation Alliance as vice president; Chad See of Freezer Longline Coalition, secretary and treasurer; Ian Pitzman of United Cook Inlet Drift Association, at-large Executive Committee member; Bob Kehoe of Purse Seine Vessel Owners Association, co-Administration chair; Dale Kelley of Alaska Trollers Association, Fish Farm and Environmental Committee chair; and Steve Reifenstuhl of Northern Southeast Regional Aquaculture Association, Subsistence Committee chair.

 The six new Executive Committee members will join existing Executive Committee members Duncan Fields of Cape Barnabas Inc., co-Administration chair; Gary Fandrei of Cook Inlet Aquaculture Association, Enhancement chair; Bruce Schactler at-large from Kodiak, Marketing chair; Stephanie Madsen of At-sea Processors Association, National chair; and Mark Gleason of Alaska Bering Sea Crabbers, PR and Membership chair.

 Continuing on for the second year of two-year terms are UFA’s four at-large board representatives: Kevin Adams, a Bristol Bay gillnetter who resides in Anchorage, Clay Bezenek of Ketchikan, Victor Jones of Cordova and Bruce Schactler, a salmon and herring seiner of Kodiak. UFA’s four at-large board seats help represent the association’s 400 individual and lifetime members on the UFA board.