Arts briefs

Arts council announces Community Arts Awards

Homer Council on the Arts Announces 2020 Community Art Awards

The Homer Council on the Arts has announced its 15th Annual Community Art Awards. Individuals are nominated by the public, and finalized by the HCOA Board of Directors.

The 2020 recipients will be presented at HCOA’s Annual Meeting, to be held by Zoom videoconference at 6 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 8. The awards will be presented first, followed by the quilt raffle draw and the business portion of the meeting. Register for the meeting at

The 2020 Award recipients are:

• Mary Epperson Lifetime Achievement Award: Brad Hughes

• Artist of the year: Debi Poore

• Arts Advocate: Rika Mouw

• Mary Langham Volunteer of the Year Award: Cindy Nelson

• Jill Berryman Art Educator Award: Alayne Tetor

• Diane Borgman Youth Artist of the Year Award: Ella Blanton Yourkowski

• Kathy and Mike Pate Business Award: Kachemak Bay Broadcasting Inc. – KBBI Public Radio

Tags: ,