A rundown of candidates running to represent the lower Kenai Peninsula in the primary, general election

Residents of the lower Kenai Peninsula have some choices ahead of them in both the upcoming Alaska primary and general elections.

The primary election is set for Aug. 18, with the general election on Nov. 3. In the Alaska Senate, District P covers the communities of Kodiak Island, Cordova, Homer, Anchor Point, Kasilof, Ninilchik, Yakutat, Seldovia and Tyonek. Incumbent Senator Gary Stevens, (R-Kodiak) is certified and running for re-election in the primary.

Stevens faces John Cox (R-Anchor Point) in the Republican Primary. Greg Madden of Soldotna is also running, but in the Alaska Independence Party Primary.

Both Cox and Madden have also been certified as candidates, according to the Alaska Division of Elections website.

Stevens served in the Alaska House of Representatives from 2001-03, and has been a senator since 2003. Cox has run for state office before but has yet to win a seat.

Also in the primary election, Rep. Sarah Vance (R-Homer) is running as an incumbent to retain her seat for District 31, which covers from just south of Soldotna, down to Homer and out to Fox River and the head of Kachemak Bay.

Vance has served as the District 31 representative since 2019, after defeating former Rep. Paul Seaton in the 2018 election. She is certified to run in the Republican Primary, according to the Division of Elections.

While Vance is unchallenged in the August primary, she faces one challenger for her seat. Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly President Kelly Cooper is running in the general election as a non-affiliated candidate. Her certification is pending submission of signatures, according to the division website.

Cooper is a longtime member of the borough’s assembly and a local business owner.

To find out more about the two election dates, how to register to vote, how to request an absentee ballot, or more about the candidates, visit the Alaska Division of Elections website at elections.alaska.gov.

For a full list of all Alaska Senate and House of Representatives candidates, go to elections.alaska.gov/Core/candidatelist.php.

Reach Megan Pacer at mpacer@homernews.com.