Mariners on the Move

In the latest installment of awarding Homer High School students with a school honor, the students were able to gather to celebrate the awards for the first time in a while.

Students who earned this quarter’s Mariners on the Move award met in person with teachers for a Feb. 26 celebration, according to school counselor Paul Story. Parents and friends joined virtually via Zoom.

Each faculty member at Homer High selects one student per year to honor with the Mariners on the Move award. The students are selected for scholarship and character.

The winners of the award for the third quarter were:

Emily Owens – nominated by Gia Baker

Laura Inama – nominated by Chad Felice

Ancil Chandler – nominated by Eric Simondsen

Spencer Co – nominated by Jan Spurkland

Anthony Basargin – nominated by Kendra Nelson

Kaya Dalke – nominated by Douglas Waclawski

Bruce Graham – nominated by Lisa McCutcheon

Adelyn McCorison – nominated by Saundra Hudson