This compilation shows the recipients of this quarter’s Mariners on the Move awards. (Photo courtesy Paul Story)

This compilation shows the recipients of this quarter’s Mariners on the Move awards. (Photo courtesy Paul Story)

Mariners on the Move recipients awarded

Homer High School continued its tradition of honoring students who exhibit good academic work and character this quarter, with a new host of Mariners on the Move award recipients.

School counselor Paul Story said this round of awards marked the third time the program has celebrated the students via a Zoom meeting rather than the customary in-person gathering with teachers and parents.

To select the winners, each Homer High School faculty member selects one outstanding student each year. The awards are based on both scholarship and character, according to this quarter’s release.

The honored students and their families, along with the nominating teachers, met via Zoom on Dec. 11. Second quarter winners were:

· Stella Dye – nominated by Deb Curtis

· Ridge Marion – nominated by Jessi Felice

· Hudson Loboy – nominated by Laura Reiske

· Melissa Baxter – nominated by Sarah Boss

· Lucas Nollar – nominated by Vicki Lowe

· Nathaniel Theisen – nominated by Lisa Fellows

· Madison Story – nominated by Suzanne Bishop

· Lawson Alexson-Walls – nominated by Daniel Newsted

More in News

Alaska’s Chief Medical Officer Dr. Anne Zink address members of the media during a remote press conference on Monday, March 1 in Alaska. (Screenshot)
State to receive 8,900 doses of Johnson & Johnson vaccine

Alaska continues to lead the nation in vaccine rollout

Rep. Sarah Vance, R-Homer, listens as Rep. Zack Fields, D-Anchorage, delivers an apology on Friday, March 5, 2021, for earlier remarks. Vance called for a Sense of the House vote to rebuke Fields for his comments. (Peter Segall/The Juneau Empire via AP, Pool)
Alaska House condemns comments about lawmaker’s appearance

Sense of the House sponsored by Rep. Sarah Vance

Commercial fishing and other boats are moored in the Homer Harbor in this file photo. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Seawatch: IFQ permits go by mail only on request

Pandemic work conditions prevented mass mailings of IFQ permits

Homer News file photo
Homer High School.
School announcements

School district risk level update and upcoming events

This image compilation shows the latest winners of the Mariners on the Move award from Homer High School. (Image courtesy Paul Story)
Mariners on the Move

In the latest installment of awarding Homer High School students with a… Continue reading

Sue Post and Jim Levine walk across a field to observe northern lights on Tuesday, March 2, 2021, in Diamond Ridge near Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Aurora dazzles over Homer

Good viewing was seen on Tuesday, Wednesday

Mike Chihuly and Crosson on a snowshoe outing in a blizzard in Ninilchik. (Photo courtesy Mike Chihuly)
Ninilchik author explores bird dog hunting in latest work

The book features photos and recollections of more than 40 years hunting Alaska game birds with dogs.

Tracy Silta (left) administers a dose of a COVID-19 vaccine to Melissa Linton during a vaccine clinic at Soldotna Prep School on Friday, Feb. 26, 2021 in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
District vaccine clinic sees large turnout

The clinic was targeted specifically to KPBSD staff

Most Read