Best Western win’s Men’s Division D softball tournament

The Best Western men’s softball team won the Men’s Division D State Tournament last weekend in Anchorage.

Fourteen teams played from across Alaska. Homer competed against teams from Kotzebue, Valdez, Kenai, MatSu and Anchorage.

Best Western won the championship after battling through the losers’ bracket and ultimately besting Kenai in the final with a score of 16-6.

Phillip Jones from Homer was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Joel Pietsch, Sam Buenting and Kenny Ciccoli were named to the all tournament team.

Tags: ,