Kenai runners lead area at Plumley Invite

West Valley senior Daniel Abromowicz and Chugiak junior Campbell Peterson won the varsity races during the George Plumley Invitational on Saturday at Palmer High School.

Abromowicz won the boys race with a time of 16 minutes, 18 seconds. His teammate, junior Shane Fisher, was the runner-up with a time of 16:30.

Peterson won the girls race with a time of 19:39.

The Grace Christian boys and Juneau-Douglas girls earned team titles. Grace finished with 63 points, well ahead of West Anchorage and West Valley, who were second and third with 120 points. Juneau finished with 71 points in the girls team standings. South Anchorage was the runner-up with 79 points.

More than 1,000 athletes from 35 different schools across the state competed in the cross-country running meet.

Homer junior Seamus McDonough led Peninsula runners, placing 13th with a time of 17:20. Kenai junior Jayna Boonstra led the Peninsula in the girls race with a 15th-place finish and time of 20:25. Kenai sophomore Emilee Wilson had a 38th-place finish, and time of 21:32. Wilson was just ahead of teammate Leah Fallon, who was 39th with a time of 21:33.

Soldotna’s Jordan Strausbaugh (20:56) was 26th in the girls race. Eryn Field led Homer with a 42nd-place finish.

Kenai’s Gregory Fallon and Jack Laker finished 24th and 25th to lead the Kardinals boys.

Kenai was eighth in the girls team standings, to lead Peninsula teams. Homer was 11th and Soldotna was 12th.

The Kards were 11th in the boys teams standings. Homer was 13th and Soldotna was 15th.

Boonstra, Fallon win at ACS 3K

Friday, area schools competed at the ACS 3K Class Challenge at Cheney Lake in Anchorage.

Kodiak won the freshmen-sophomore boys race with 32 points, while Kenai was second with 62 and Soldotna was fourth with 100.

Gregory Fallon ran 10:19 to win for Kenai. Also for the Kards, Jack Laker was fourth in 10:24, Zane Tews was 25th in 12:08, Robert Carson was 27th in 12:10, Zane Pellegrom was 30th in 12:17, Eli Castro was 57th in 15:28 and Eliot Hanson was 59th in 15:58.

Also from the peninsula, Soldotna’s Levi Mickelson was 11th at 11:08, Homer’s Jody Goodrich was 13th at 11:20, Homer’s Brock Barth was 15th in 11:30, Seward’s Trevor Guernsey was 17th in 11:35, Soldotna’s Finnley Loop was 20th in 11:47, Soldotna’s Tusstin Keller was 22nd in 11:58, Seward’s Van Shank was 32nd in 12:21, Homer’s Tucker Hiller was 47th in 13:19, Soldotna’s Joseph Holt was 49th in 14:08, Soldotna’s Cassidy Noble was 50th in 14:16, Seward’s Jack Lindquist was 54th in 14:56, Soldotna’s Elias Bouschor was 61st in 17:22, Soldotna’s Caleb Wohlers was 62nd in 17:53 and Soldotna’s Ryan Jennissen was 63rd in 18:03.

Grace Christian won the freshmen-sophomore girls race with 40 points, while Homer was second with 42 and Soldotna was fourth with 71.

Grace’s Kai Waythomas won at 12:11, while Seward’s Hailey Ingalls was third at 12:33, Homer’s Frida Renner was sevent at 12:49, Kenai’s Emilee Wilson was eighth at 13:01 and Homer’s Elena Badajos was 10th at 13:07.

Also from the area, Kenai’s Emily Moss was 12th in 13:14, Homer’s Bea McDonough was 13th at 13:16, Seward’s Natalie Sieminski was 15th in 13:48, Homer’s Adelyn McCorison was 16th in 13:57, Soldotna’s Kaytlin McAnelley was 19th in 14:08, Soldotna’s Megan Whittom was 23rd in 14:22, Seward’s Stella Dow was 25th in 14:30, Kenai’s Mya Taylor was 26th in 14:39, Seward’s Addison Lemme was 28th in 14:50, Soldotan’s Ariana Cannava was 29th in 15:02, Soldotna’s Adele Tacey was 30th in 15:02, Soldotna’s Avery Ciufo was 32nd in 15:11, Homer’s McKenna Black was 37th in 15:28, Soldotna’s Leanne Gordon was 40th in 15:53, Kenai’s Lynnea Hack was 44th in 16:30, Homer’s Ainsley Boss-Harmon was 49th in 21:26 and Soldotna’s Katie Nye was 50th in 22:39.

Grace won the junior-senoir boys race with 24, while Homer was third with 73, Kenai was fourth with 74 and Soldotna was fifth with 107.

For Homer, Seamus McDonough was sixth at 10:26, Adams Veldstra was ninth at 10:49, Damon Weisser was 37th at 12:04, Lliam Boss-Harmon was 51st at 13:14 and Mylan Johnson was 56th at 13:50.

For Kenai, Joe Hamilton was 12th at 11:05, Tyler Hippchen was 13th at 11:07, Armands Veksejs was 24th at 11:34, Nathan Haakenson was 38th at 12:13, George Wright was 40th at 12:23 and Nico Walker was 61st at 14:48.

For SoHi, Jonathan Gordon was 14th at 11:08, Andrew Cox was 31st at 11:45, Carter Cannava was 50th at 13:14, Trayton Keller was 62nd at 14:51 and Carter Kincaid was 63rd at 16:01.

Also from the peninsula, Nikolaevsk’s Justin Trail was 10th at 10:55 and Seward’s Ozzy Deel was 55th at 13:49.

In the junior-senior girls race, Grace won with 31 points, while Kenai had 38 for second and Homer was third with 57.

For Kenai, Jayna Boonstra won at 11:59, Leah Fallon was fifth at 12:40, Summer Foster was ninth at 13:21, Gabriella Tews was 20th at 14:35, Betsy Moffett was 37th at 17:59 and Elia Ortiz Diez was 39th at 20:18.

For Homer, Eryn Field was fourth at 12:40, Mariah McGuire was 22nd at 14:51, Maddox Berg was 24th at 15:24, Leah Dunn was 31st at 15:45 and Cecilia Fitzpatrick was 32nd at 16:10.

Also for the area, Soldotna’s Jordan Strausbaugh was third at 12:20, Seward’s Aly Guernsey was 17th at 14:04, Soldotna’s Haewon Hong was 40th in 20:29 and SoHi’s Dady Thisakulwong was 41st in 21:11.