Registration starts for conference

Early registration is going on now for the 2015 Kachemak Bay Writers’ Conference to be held June 12-16 at Land’s End Resort. Sponsored by the University of Alaska Anchorage, Kachemak Bay Campus, this year’s keynote presenter is National Book award finalist and novelist Andre Dubus III.

The conference features 19 other award-winning, nationally-recognized authors, editors and agents who will conduct creative writing workshops, readings, craft talks and panel presentations in creative fiction, nonfiction, poetry and the business of writing. The 2015 conference’s presenting writers are Simmons Buntin, Joy Castro, Richard Chiappone, Alice Friman, Adrianne Harun, Kim Heacox, Justin Herrmann, Erin Coughlin Hollowell, John Larison, E. Lockhart, Nancy Lord, Jeremy Pataky, Andy Ross, Eva Saulitis, Frank Soos, Peggy Shumaker, Judith Sternlight, Peter Trachtenberg and Afaa Michael Weaver.

Optional activities include manuscript reviews, editor-agent consultations, receptions, a boat cruise and open mic. Evening readings on June 13-15 by visiting writers will be open to the general public at no charge. A special post-conference writing workshop will be held across Kachemak Bay at Tutka Bay Lodge for conference registrants.

The conference’s early registration fee is $375 through May 1, space available.  There is a special University of Alaska admitted student rate of $325. Advanced registration is required. For program and registration information, visit