Homer High School announces recipients of the annual Mariner Way Award

Each Homer High School teacher selects one outstanding student per year based on exhibition of one or more of the Mariner Way traits. The Mariner Way traits include toughness, compassion, drive, integrity, character, sportsmanship and citizenship.

This year’s honorees, their families and the nominating teachers attended a March 28 celebration in the library at the highschool during the focus on learning period.

The following 10 students were awarded the Mariner Way award for the 2023-2024 school year:

Alex Van Meter, nominated by Lucas Parsley;

Ella Gustafson, nominated by Matt Stineff;

Rocco Flora, nominated by Winter Marshall-Allen;

Natalie Farren, nominated by Olivia Philpot;

Lars Peterson, nominated by Gia Baker;

Madilyn Gibbins, nominated by Justin Zank;

Tyler Burnett, nominated by Andrea Stineff;

Ryan Alcorta, nominated by Sarah Boss;

Aiden Crane, nominated by Kyle Schneider and;

Shaylea McGee, nominated by Lisa McCutcheon.