Candidate nomination deadline for HEA election approaches

Elections for the Homer Electric Association Board of Directors are coming up, and the deadline to nominate people for seats is next week.

The public has until 5 p.m. on Friday, March 5 to submit nominations to HEA for those interested in running to sit on the cooperative’s governing board, HEA announced in a press release.

The board has a total of nine directors representing three different districts of the Kenai Peninsula. There are three seats up for reelection this year, one from each district. In District 1 (Kenai, Nikiski and parts of Soldotna), David Thomas’ seat is up for election, and he is not running for election as his term limit has ended, according to the press release. Likewise, Dave Carey’s seat in District 2 (Soldotna, Sterling and Kasilof) is up for reelection and his term limit has also ended.

In District 3 (Kasilof, Homer and Seldovia) the seat up for reelection is currently held by Roy Champagne.

Those who want to run to sit on the board can fill out and submit a candidacy packet, along with 15 signatures from current HEA members who live in the same district as the person running. The packets are available online at, or at the cooperative’s offices in Kenai and Homer.

Those interested in running can turn their candidacy packets in at either office.

Ballots will be mailed out to HEA members to vote on April 5, and the election results will be announced at the annual meeting, being held virtually on May 6.

Call Bruce Shelley at 907-283-2324 for more information.