Homer residents recognized by conservation foundation

At a ceremony tonight at the Alaska Native Heritage Center in Anchorage, the Alaska Conservation Foundation will recognize winners of the 28th annual Conservation Achievement Awards. 

Two of the recipients, Roberta Highland and Justice Sky, are from Homer.  

The awards recognize “the remarkable achievements of individuals and organizations committed to protecting Alaska,” the ACF said in a press release announcing the winners. “These are men and women who work every day to ensure that Alaska is thoughtfully protected, not just for the present, but forever.” 

The recipients and awards include:

• Roberta Highland of Homer: Celia Hunter Award for Outstanding Volunteer Contributions;

• Eric Myers of Anchorage: Olaus Murie Award for Outstanding Professional Contributions;

• Great Land Trust of Anchorage: Lowell Thomas, Jr., Award for Outstanding Achievements by a Conservation Organization;

• Leila Pyle of Kodiak, Madeline Rafferty of Fairbanks, Justice Sky of Homer: Denny Wilcher Award for Young Environmental Activists;

• Michael Melford of Mystic, Conn.: Daniel Housberg Wilderness Image Award for Excellence in Film or Video;

• Dan Pascucci of Soldotna; Jerry S. Dixon Award for Excellence in Environmental Education;

• Victoria Hykes Steere of Anchorage: Outstanding Achievements by an Alaska Native Organization or Individual.

The public is welcome to attend the ceremony. Tickets can be purchased by contacting Joel Terwilliger at 907-276-1917 or emailing

For more information, visit alaskaconservation.org.