Mariners earn all-state football honors

Homer takes home first team quarterback and reciever honors, among others

Mariners football players were among those recognized with Division III all-state awards.

Preston Stanislaw led the way for the Mariners offense with first-team quarterback in Division III. Chris Martishev snatched first-team wide receiver honors, helping boost the Mariners offense all year long along with running back/outside linebacker Jake Tappan, who received second-team honors.

Inside linebacker Wyatt Counts rounded out the defense with first-team honors, along with Martishev again at outside linebacker. Defensive-back Landon Branstetter also received all-state consideration with second-team honors.

The Homer football team had a total of five Mariners selected for all-state honors: three individuals with four first-team all-state selections, and two individuals with two second-team selections.

Barrow came in the lead this year with 14 players honored with all-state, next being Kenai with 10, Houston with nine, then Homer and Kodiak tied with five honors each and Redington just behind with four.

The full results of all the D-III honors and all-state selections are as listed:

Offensive Player of the Year: RB Bobby Hayes, Kenai

Defensive Player of the Year: OL, DL Uatahouse Tuifua, Barrow

Lineman of the Year: OL, DL Uatahouse Tuifua, Barrow

D-III Coach of the Year: Chris Battle, Barrow

D-III Asst. Coach of the Year: Blake Taplin, Kenai

Homer All-State Recap:

First Team QB: Preston Stanislaw

First Team WR, First Team OLB: Chris Martishev

First Team ILB: Wyatt Counts

Second Team HB, OLB: Jake Tappan

Second Team DB: Landon Branstetter

First Team All-State Offense:

Quarterback: Preston Stanislaw, Homer; Tight End: Keldin Nicoll, Houston; Half Backs: Noah Whitted, Houston, Bobby Hayes, Kenai; Tackles: Norman Lillomaiava, Barrow, Wyatt Cole, Kenai; Guards: Uatahouse Tuifua, Barrow, Rohan Hansen, Kenai; Full Back: William Wilson, Kenai; Center: Brewster Fields, Barrow; Wide Receivers: Chris Martishev, Homer, Doyle Bond, Redington.

First Team All-State Defense:

Outside Backers: Dwight Unutoa, Barrow, Chris Martishev, Homer; Inside Backers: Elliot Haakenson, Kenai, Wyatt Counts, Homer; Defensive Backs: Ethan Goodwin, Barrow Noah Whitted, Houston, Zeke Yragui, Kenai; Defensive Linemen: Uatahouse Tuifua, Barrow, Norman Lillomaiava, Barrow, Keldin Nicoll, Houston, Makai Johansen, Kenai.

First Team All-State Special Teams:

Return Specialist: Noah Whitted, Houston; Kicker: Sawyer Vann, Kenai; Punter: Hayden Kearney, Redington, Connor Hughes, Kodiak; Long Snapper: Robert Anderson, Kodiak; Utility Player: Lennox Dias, Barrow.

Second Team All-State Offense:

Quarterback: Zeke Yragui, Kenai; Wide Receivers: Hunter Craig #21, Houston, Sawyer Vann, Kenai; Tight End: Ethan Goodwin, Barrow; Half Backs: Kennedy Elavgak, Barrow, Jake Tappan, Homer; Tackle: Sioeli Tuifua, Barrow, Carston Lee, Houston; Guards: Justus Spaulding, Redington, Frank Dorner, Kodiak; Center: Joe Ahumada, Houston; Full Back: Gabriel Ortilla, Barrow.

Second Team All-State Defense:

Inside Backer: Gabriel Ortilla, Barrow, Gage Hawes, Houston; Outside Backers: Jake Tappan, Homer, Robert Mitchell, Houston; Defensive Backs: Eric Librado, Barrow, Landan Branstetter, Homer, Cole Langham, Kenai; Defensive Linemen: Alex Fruean, Barrow, Carston Lee, Houston, Logan Myers, Kenai, Wyatt Delgado, Kodiak.

Second Team All-State Special Teams:

Return Specialist: Evan Bechtol, Kodiak; Kicker: Lennox Dias, Barrow; Punter: Lennox Dias, Barrow; Utility Player: Ikaia Flores, Redington.