6 vying for seats on HEA Board of Directors

The board is composed of nine directors elected from three voting districts

Six candidates are vying for seats on the Homer Electric Association Board of Directors, the cooperative announced March 7.

HEA’s Board of Directors is composed of nine directors elected from three voting districts. Board members serve three-year terms and are responsible for policy creation and rate development among other things.

James “Jim” Duffield of Kenai and Robert F. Ernst of Nikiski are both running for a District 1 seat, which includes Kenai, Nikiski and parts of Soldotna.

Dan Green and C.O. Rudstrom, both of Soldotna, are running for a District 2 seat, which includes Soldotna, Sterling and Kasilof.

Michael L. Jones and Eugene A. (Jim) Levine, both of Homer, are running for a District 3 seat, which includes Kasilof south to the Kachemak Bay area.

Duffield, Rudstrom and Levine all currently serve on the board in their respective districts. Duffield also serves as board secretary and treasurer.

Voting will begin on March 31 and HEA members will be able to cast their ballot by returning a mail-in ballot, vote through HEA’s online portal or vote in person at HEA’s annual meeting on May 4. According to HEA, results will be tabulated and announced at that meeting, which will be held at Soldotna High School.

More information about the HEA Board of Directors election can be found at homerelectric.com/my-


Reach reporter Ashlyn O’Hara at ashlyn.ohara@peninsulaclarion.com.